Home › Medium (130–249 CADR) › Alen BreatheSmart FLEX

Alen BreatheSmart FLEX
#13 of 22 in medium · #31 of 49 overall · all Alen models
3.0
45i without the sensor or app.
240 cfmsmoke CADR
372 sq ftAHAM room size
50 dBat full speed
50 Wmax power
$299street price, being verified
One air change of a 300 sq ft room in about 10 min$69 a year in filters$644 to own for 5 yearsAHAM Verifide CADR
Ratings
Includes independent measurements from Air Purifier First, HouseFresh.
Each rating places this unit among the others on a 0.5–5 scale, within its room-size class for the measures that scale with size and across the whole catalog for the rest. Weighted together they give the overall 3.0. Formula and weights.
Specifications
- Smoke CADR
- 240 cfm
- Dust CADR
- 240 cfm
- Pollen CADR
- 240 cfm
- AHAM room size
- 372 sq ft
- Maker's room size
- 700 sq ft
- Max power
- 50 W
- Noise (low / high)
- 25 / 50 dB
- Filter cost
- $69
- Filter life
- 12 months
- Filters per year
- $69
- 5-year cost of ownership
- $644
- True HEPA
- Yes
- Activated carbon
- 0.3 lb
- Auto mode (PM2.5 sensor)
- No
- App
- No
- Washable prefilter
- No
- AHAM Verifide
- Yes
- Energy Star
- Yes
- Weight
- 15.0 lb
- Released
- 2019
Independent measurements
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Particle reduction PM2.5 fell from 96.3 to 5.7 ug/m3 over 60 min at max speed (4 of 4) in a 560 sq ft room; Temtop meter. About 89-90% in a 730 sq ft room (103.3 to 10.8) | 94 % | Air Purifier First 2026-09 |
| Time to clear test room 1377 cu ft room; incense (PM1 start 190-200 ug/m3); PM1 brought to zero (100%); max speed (4 of 4); AirGradient ONE. 108 min at speed 1 | 39 min | Air Purifier First 2026-09 |
| Noise, measured speed 1 of 4 (Low); distance not stated | 41.2 dBA | Air Purifier First 2026-09 |
| Noise, measured speed 4 of 4 (Turbo); distance not stated | 53.7 dBA | Air Purifier First 2026-09 |
| Power draw, measured speed 4 of 4 (Turbo); energy meter; 14.2 W at speed 3; 2.7 W at speed 1. Far below the 50 W spec-sheet figure the same page lists | 24.3 W | Air Purifier First 2026-09 |
| Time to clear test room 728 cu ft test room; incense smoke cleared to PM1 zero (100%); top speed | 34 min | HouseFresh 2025-12 |
| Noise, measured speed 1 (lowest); 3 ft | 35.7 dBA | HouseFresh 2025-12 |
| Noise, measured highest speed per body text (table labels it speed 3 while the power table lists four speeds); 3 ft | 50.7 dBA | HouseFresh 2025-12 |
| Power draw, measured speed 4 of 4 (top); 14 W at speed 3; 2.9 W at speed 1 | 24.2 W | HouseFresh 2025-12 |
How it compares with its neighbors
| # | Model | Smoke CADR | Dust | Pollen | W | dB max | Filters/yr | $/CADR | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | Coway Airmega 250 | 240 | 250 | 245 | 52 | 52 | $70 | 1.0 | 3.2 |
| 11 | Levoit Core 300S | 141 | 140 | 145 | 45 | 50 | $45 | 0.9 | 3.2 |
| 12 | Levoit Core 300 | 141 | 140 | 145 | 45 | 50 | $45 | 0.6 | 3.1 |
| 13 | Alen BreatheSmart FLEX | 240 | 240 | 240 | 50 | 50 | $69 | 1.2 | 3.0 |
| 14 | Coway Airmega 100 | 148 | 150 | 150 | 23 | 57 | $40 | 0.9 | 3.0 |
| 15 | Medify MA-25 | 230 | 230 | 230 | 55 | 55 | $100 | 0.4 | 3.0 |
| 16 | Alen BreatheSmart 45i | 245 | 245 | 245 | 50 | 49 | $79 | 1.4 | 2.9 |